Masthead of U3A Hawthorn: gateway to new learning experiences

Report from Twenty Second AGM

Dr Michael McKernan, guest speaker.

Guest speaker: Dr Michael McKernan
click for larger image

Our 2007 AGM, well attended by our membership, was held at Sinclair Avenue on 26 April. Also attending were our local member for Hawthorn, Ted Baillieu, the Mayor of Boroondara, Councillor Phillip Healey, and Councillors Dick Menting and Coral Ross.

In commenting on her Presidential Report, which had been distributed at the meeting, Liz Pittman reported on her visits to 70 of our classes towards the end of 2006 which had convinced her that being President of such a wonderful organization was really worthwhile.

Liz thanked Councillors and Council Officers for the support and encouragement we continue to receive from them. We are also grateful for advice given by Ted Baillieu. She expressed the hope that by yearend
we will have a formal agreement with Council giving us secure tenure at Sinclair Avenue. This would enable further improvements that will add significantly to the usefulness of the premises.

Following the resignations from the Committee of Ruth Hoadley and Pilar Manovel, Rod Benjamin and Beth Johns accepted nomination to the Committee and were duly elected unopposed along with other retiring members, including the President, Secretary and Treasurer.

At the conclusion of the formal part of the meeting, those present were addressed by Dr Michael McKernan, an historian and former Deputy Director of the Australian War Memorial. His topic was Anzac day in History and he recalled that Anzac Day is a story full of sadness and grief when we think
with pride of the achievements of Australia at war. He reminded us that we must also remember the suffering of those left behind whom we tend to forget.



Patron - Professor Ian Young
President and Vice-Chancellor, Swinburne University of Technology

Incorporated as Third Age Learning (Hawthorn) Inc
Reg. No. A 10798
ABN 41 360 939 238

26 Sinclair Avenue    
Glen Iris Vic 3146

Telephone: (03) 9821 0282
Fax:           (03) 9822 7668